How does sharing work in Lifetick?
Sharing enables you to create a goal and share it with others. This means your colleagues, friends or family can work with you towards the achievement of something together. Sharing is available to all Lifetick users including free account holders. There are up to three roles associated with a shared goal:
||This is the person who creates the goal. They can edit and delete the goal and of course invite others to share the goal with them. They can never be removed from a goal as they own it. Furthermore, the owner has the ability to add, edit, complete and delete tasks. They can also assign tasks to other sharers for completion.
||This is a person who has been invited to share the goal with the Owner. As a Co-owner, the user can perform the same functions as an Owner except 1) deleting the goal and 2) removing the Owner from the goal (not allowed at all). However, co-owners can add and remove other sharers and they can also edit the goal itself.
||This is a person who has been invited to share the goal with the Owner. As a Collaborator, the user can add, edit and delete tasks. They can assign tasks to others as well.
||In some instances the Owner may have a Coach in Lifetick. If the Owner's Coach is visible for this goal it means the coach can see it and edit it, but will not be able to complete it. The coach also has separate interactions directly with the Owner.
- Accepting a sharing invitation: Anyone invited to share a goal will receive an email explaining the invitation and their role. All they need to do is click the "Accept" link and log in. A screen will be presented for them to confirm acceptance. If the person does not have a Lifetick account, there will automatically be
- Assignment of tasks to a user: Tasks assigned to a specific individual can only be completed by that individual. Others can see the task, but they won't be permitted to complete it.
- Assignment of tasks to anyone: This enables anyone sharing the goal (as Owner, Co-Owner or Collaborator) to complete the task. However, be aware that Reminders cannot be set for tasks assigned to "anyone".
- Removing access: Both Owners and Co-owners can remove access to a shared goal for another user. Furthermore, every sharer except the Owner can remove themselves from a shared goal.
- Switching roles: If a user has been created as a Co-owner and a role change is required to Collaborator (or vice versa), then the access will first need to be removed and then a new invite with the correct role be re-sent.
- Comments: These can be added by any sharer from within the goal Activity pop over in the goal window. All other sharers will receive an email notification with the comment and can view it in Activity pop over as well.
- Goal updates: Only updates done by a sharer will appear in his/her own journal. Updates by all users can be seen in the goal's own Activity pop over
- Sharing updates: When other sharers update a goal whilst a sharer is using Lifetick, a notification will appear in the header with the number of updates that have occurred to the goals that the user is sharing. By clicking on the number, the list of updates will be displayed for the user. Each of these can be clicked to take the user to the specific goal that the notification relates to.
Users can also invite people to support them in their goal. Supporters are able to add comments and see the progress a user is making toward a goal. Supporters can not add, edit or complete tasks. They merely observe as a supporter to lend moral support. If you invite someone to support you and they do not have a Lifetick account, the invitation email they receive will provide a link for them to create a new account. Hassle free for you and them. Here are some key points about Supporters:
- Supporters do not need to pay for Lifetick
- You can have as many supporters as you want on each goal regardless of whether you have a free or paid account
- Supporters can support as many different Lifetickers a required.
Is Lifetick better for sharing than Lifetick Coach?
It makes very little difference. The following points will help you decide:
- Lifetick is better if you want to have separate (paying and non-paying) accounts
- Lifetick is better if you are not part of an organisation or business and would like each user to have autonomy
- Lifetick is better if you don't want responsibility for other users
- Lifetick is better if you don't need quick metrics and stats at a glance for various users
- Lifetick Coach is better if you want to have a single paid account
- Lifetick Coach is better if you are part of an organisation (small or large)
- Lifetick Coach is better if you have responsibility for other users
- Lifetick Coach is better if you want live performance metrics for other users
- Lifetick Coach is better if you have a mentor/protege relationship
- Lifetick Coach is better if you need messaging capabilities to users or groups (beyond comments on the goals)